Facebook

Love it or hate it, Facebook is here to stay. It’s a great way to keep in touch with family and friends and in my case, neighbours, via Australia.

Let me explain. Last year my grandson was in hospital and I was spending a lot of time on the ward with him so his mum could go home for a change of clothes etc, and allow her to spend time with her other two children. I didn’t have time to call on my neighbours to see they were alright, and to tell them about Chris. But they were informed through the power of Facebook. I posted updates on Facebook, mainly for the family, it’s easier than phoning everyone. My neighbour’s daughter in Australia read the posts and told her mum when they spoke on Skype. With only a driveway between us, they found out the news via the other side of the world. We had a good laugh about that when we finally saw each other.

Recently, I read of a lady in London who was left a note by another motorist, who had witnessed a wagon driver scrape down the side of her car before driving off. But the power of Facebook, along with a copy of the letter showing the wagon’s reg number, helped to identify the culprit who was found and made to pay up for the damage he’d caused.

People have found long-lost relatives, lost dogs and cars and only two days ago a rabbit that had escaped was returned to its owner.

But not everything about Facebook is of a positive nature. I know families across the country and beyond were deeply concerned about the emergence of the necknominations that swept the web last month. People died carrying out stupid, senseless nominations to drink ridiculous concoctions that became more and more bizarre as the days passed. Happily, that trend seems to have died out as people came to their senses and realised the futility of these dares. I imagine the parents of numerous teenagers breathed a sigh of relief when it finally drew to a close.

I am always amazed at what people believe. It’s on Facebook so it must be true. Do people not realise that any nutcase can write something, cite it as fact, and lead people along like sheep to the slaughter? When did we stop questioning what we read or are told? When did we give up thinking for ourselves? I despair of society sometimes and do not like the implications for future generations.

Tonight I read on Facebook that people are posting photos of themselves without make-up to raise awareness of cancer. How it raises awareness I’ve yet to discover, but like sheep people are jumping on the band wagon without thinking or questioning why. I could understand the trend if the people taking part made a donation to a cancer research programme, or for McMillan nurses, otherwise it’s a quite pointless exercise.

I suppose the ladies who take part can congratulate each other on how pretty/beautiful/amazing they each look without make-up. It may not raise cancer awareness but it will certainly boost the confidence and self-esteem of the British female public for a short while.

The government will surely see the value of these ‘selfies’ and will adopt the strategy to boost the economy, ergo the confidence of the public. What a wonderful society it will be.

But that’s me, a cynical woman who thinks deeply about issues, who by my actions tries to help others, who questions what I read and endeavours to make sense of a world where often there is no sense.

Leave a Reply

